Some Notable Dates In The Growth Of Nigeria

2000-1000 B.C. Early Yoruba migrations from the Middle East.

100 A.D. The original Seven Hausa states founded

700 A.D. Later Yoruba Migrations

1000-1300. Kanem empire flourished

1472. Portuguese visited Benin

1553. First English visited Benin

1588. First recorded export of palm oil from Benin

1800-1900. A period of constant wars between peoples on the coast and peoples of the interior.

1802. Fulani under Usuman Dan Fodio conquered the Hausa states

1805. Mungo Park died at Bussa on the River Niger

1830. Lander reached the mouth of the Niger River at Brass

1834. First British ships reached Lokoja

1841-3. Methodists and C.M.S Started work at Badagry and Abeokuta

1849. John Beecroft appointed first British Consul for the Bight of Benin

1851. Lagos attacked; Kosoko deposed

1852. First treaty signed at Lagos to stop slave trading

1854. King Pepple of Bonny deposed and exiled

1861. Lagos Became a Crown Colony and King Pepple restored to his throne

1864. Abeokuta attacked by armies from Dahomey

1866. Lagos administered as part of the West African Settlements

1874. Lagos administration transferred to Governor of the Gold Coast

1885. Treaty signed with Sokoto and Oil Rivers Protectorate established.

1886. Colony of Lagos finally given its own administration and River Niger Company formed and given charter authorizing it to set up an administration in the Niger River hinterland

1893. Treaty signed with Abeokuta for “peaceful trade” and Niger Coast Protectorate established

1897. First units of Frontier Force recruited and Benin massacre punished

1898. Railway line from Lagos begun

1900. Royal Niger Company Charter withdrawn. Protectorates of Northern and Southern Provinces established and British Administration of the whole country set up and Railway line completed to Ibadan.

1907. Lagos Harbor development begun

1911. Railway line extended to Kano

1912. Coal Mining commenced at Udi

1914. Amalgamation of Northern and Southern Nigeria.Nigeria troops in 1914-18 war, invaded Cameroon and then took part in the Tanganyika compaign

1923. Nigeria Legislative Council established to make laws for Lagos and Southern Provinces

1931. New Carter Bridge opened

1939. Southern Provinces divided into Western and Eastern Provinces

1940-45. Nigerian troops fought in East Africa and in Burma

1946. Death of Herbert Macaulay

1947. New constitution: Legislative Council authority extended to whole of Nigeria. Regional Houses of Assembly set up.

1948. University College Ibadan opened

1951. Constitution amended

1954. Constitution amended again

1956. Shell BP announced discovery of mineral oil of Oloibiri

1957. Constitutional Conference held in London. And Nigeria Council of Ministers formed at the centre: Nigerian Federal Council of Ministers formed and first Federal Prime Minister appointed. And Western and Eastern Regions became self-governing.

1958. Constitutional Conference resumed: discussing reports of Minorities Commission and Revenue Allocation Commission. Federal Government took control of Nigerian military forces.

First shipment of crude oil exported from Nigeria.

Loan of £28 million obtained from the world Bank.

400-mile railway extension from Jos to Maiduguri Begun

1959. Nothern Region became self-governing.

Central Bank of Nigeria opened and New Nigerian currency issued.

Federal election held for enlarged House of Representatives.

Alhaji Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa again appointed Federal Prime Minister.

Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe appointed President of the Senate.

1960. The Federation of Nigeria established as an independent state and Member of the Commonwealth on 1st October.

Nigeria admitted to U.N Membership.

Nigeria troops join U.N force in Congo.

Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe appointed Governor-General.

1963. The new Mid-West region formed.

The Federation of Nigeria became a Republic on 1st October.

Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe was the first President of the Republic.


Some Notable Dates In The Growth Of Nigeria.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here